TXCPA Dallas promotes accounting as a career choice. An important component of this mission is to provide financial support to senior and graduate accounting students at local universities who plan to become active CPAs in the Dallas chapter area.

In 1988 the Dallas CPA Society (now TXCPA Dallas) and Philip Vogel & Company, PC (now Carr Riggs & Ingram) established the Dallas CPA Society Scholarship Fund in memory of the Vogel firm’s founder and chairman. At the time of his death, Phil was President-elect of the Dallas CPA Society and would have served as President in 1989-90. TXCPA Dallas Scholarship Program is still an expression of our deep appreciation for the many contributions of Philip Vogel.

Over the last 35 years, approximately 160 outstanding students have been selected by TXCPA Dallas Scholarship Committee to receive over $270,000 in scholarships. This program is made possible by the generous donations of hundreds of our members over the years.


  • Attend one of the following Dallas area colleges or universities: Southern Methodist University, Texas A&M-Commerce, University of North Texas, or the University of Texas at Dallas.
  • Be a U.S. citizen.
  • In fall of 2024, be a senior accounting major or a graduate student in accounting, with a minimum of 15 accounting credit hours through Fall 2023. Applicants may be full-time or part-time students.
  • Applicants must have the intent of becoming a Certified Public Accountant and entering the accounting profession upon graduation.
  • Have a minimum accounting GPA of 3.5.

See the application below for more details and application requirements. The deadline for 2024 scholarship application materials is 4:00 p.m. on May 31, 2024.

If you have any questions, contact Dana Barnes at (972) 960-8311 or

2023-2024 Scholarship Recipients

Congratulations to these outstanding students, each of whom was awarded a TXCPA Dallas Scholarship honoring Philip Vogel in 2023:

Lance Green
Texas A&M - Commerce

Laykyn Hughes
University of Texas at Dallas

Dylan McKenzie
University of Texas at Dallas

Abigail Muse
University of Texas at Dallas