Chapter History

TXCPA Houston was formed on May 22, 1928, at the Houston Club. The purpose of the organization at that time was to promote fellowship among accountants in Houston and the advancement of the profession through friendly cooperation.

Five committees were formed to create monthly programs and a six-person board of directors was created led by C.W. Wittman, Jr.

Today, TXCPA Houston is the largest chapter in the state of Texas and in the country serving 7,400 members in our 13-county area. These Texas counties include Austin, Brazoria, Colorado, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, Walker, and Waller. The chapter is larger than 42 state societies and is served by a 7-person staff, 25-person Board of Directors, and over 20 different committees.

Past President List

1944-45 +Ralph W. Peters
1945-56 +Felix T. Terry     
1946-47 +J. Raymond Jordan
1947-48 +Sam A. Merrill     
1948-49 +Homer L. Luther     
1949-50 +William P. Crouch
1950-51 +L. Ludwell Jones     
1951-52 + O. L. Luper     
1952-53 +G. Wm. Graham          
1953-54 +Albert W. Tolman, Jr.
1954-55 +Paul N. Cheatham
1955-56 +Sidney M. Lewis     
1956-57 +H. B. Edens    
1957-58 +Ray B. Vaughters
1958-59 +Fred W. Allen, Jr.
1959-60 +Fred W. Conrad     
1960-61 +Walter E. Vater
1961-62 +Herbert C. Graham     
1962-63 +Gregg C. Waddill
1963-64 +Frank T. Rea     
1964-65 +A. Burke Haymes
1965-66 Kenneth J. Mutzel
1966-67 +Herbert J. Brewer
1967-68 +Stanley H. Voelkel
1968-69 +Daniel P. Whitty
1969-70 +J. Edward Sinclair, Jr.
1970-71 E. James Lowrey
1971-72 Patrick B. Collins
1972-73 Bruce J. Harper
1973-74 +Andrew G. Shebay
1974-75 +John N. Kamp
1975-76 +Wm. Nathan Cabaniss
1976-77 Les E. Greenberg
1977-78 +Ronnie Rudd
1978-79 Karl A. Ransleben
1979-80 +M. G. Worrell, Jr.
1980-81 +Ralph E. Wallingford
1981-82 +A. Reginald Richardson
1982-83 Thomas J. Roberts
1983-84 Allan L. Jones
1984-85 +William J. Ihlanfeldt
1985-86 +Clinton F. Bateman
1986-87 Reed G. Wood
1987-88 Donald M. Clanton
1988-89 Pat D. McCarty
1989-90 +Wm. H. Shireman, Jr.
1990-91 +Joe T. Rye
1991-92 Robert E. Ogle
1992-93 Sheila L. Root
1993-94 Billy M. Atkinson, Jr.
1994-95 Frank Chovanetz
1995-96 Michael D. Viator
1996-97 Steven R. Goodman
1997-98 Elwood M. Domaschk, Jr.
1998-99 Robert J. Sweeney
1999-00 Joseph A. Joyce, Jr.
2000-01 Melissa A. Frazier
2001-02 Deborah K.P. Touchy
2002-03 Raymond C. Frierson
2003-04 Patrick L. Durio
2004-05 Stephen M. McEachern
2005-06 Barry E. Wilken
2006-07 Bill R. Frazer



2007-08 J. Michael Hilliard
2008-09 Jeff D. Harris
2009-10 Kathy M. Ploch
2010-2011 David Acosta
2011-2012 Brian Jones
2012-2013 Mark Lee
2013-2014 Tom DeGeorgio
2014-2015 Carol Warley
2015-2016 Gerrad Heep
2016-2017 Debra Seefeld
2017-2018 Sheila Enriquez
2018-2019 Mohan Kuruvilla
2019-2020 Ramsey Womack
2020-2021 Darrell Groves