Extensions Available for State Taxes

Taxpayers in Texas Counties Declared Disaster Areas After Tropical Storm Imelda Get Relief

September 2019

Texas Governor Greg Abbott’s disaster declaration provides tax relief for affected taxpayers.

The disaster declaration issued for severe weather affects 13 counties:

  • Brazoria
  • Chambers
  • Galveston
  • Hardin
  • Harris
  • Jasper
  • Jefferson
  • Liberty
  • Matagorda
  • Montgomery
  • Newton
  • Orange
  • San Jacinto

Disaster Tax Relief Available

The declaration makes affected taxpayers in the listed counties eligible for an extension to file and pay taxes due.

How to Claim Tax Relief

Extensions are available by request only. The Texas Comptroller’s office will issue extensions in 30-day increments. Taxpayers may request additional extensions, but the extension can not exceed 90 days total.

To request an extension, taxpayers can email their request to: ExtensionRequests@cpa.texas.gov. The request should include:

  • taxpayer name
  • taxpayer number
  • tax type(s) for which the extension is requested
  • affected filing period(s)
  • and name and phone number of the person making the request.

Your TXCPA membership has not been renewed for 2023 -2024. Renew now.