Page Title

TXCPA East Texas Recognizes Members at Year-End Luncheon

  • Published on May 29, 2023
  • by Rori Shaw

At the Year-End Chapter Luncheon on May 23, TXCPA East Texas recognized the following members as chapter award recipients for helping shape the direction of the chapter. Congratulations to Mehgan Ibanez, Outstanding Director; Heather Sanders, Outstanding Committee Chair; and Austin Fleet, Outstanding Member. Thank you for your leadership.

Congratulations to Ryan Hookstra (SFA) and John Sawyer (UT Tyler) on being named 2022-23 TXCPA Accounting Excellence Award winners, and to Ryan Hookstra (SFA), Rachel Boshers (UT Tyler) and Natsuki McNamara (UT Tyler) on being named 2022-23 TXCPA Accounting Education Foundation Scholarship recipients!

The chapter welcomed and introduced all new CPAs in TXCPA East Texas to the profession and our community. This year’s new licensees were:

  • Sungani Banda
  • Dani Beaver
  • Anne Bederman
  • Kathryn Cox
  • Patrick Craig
  • John Dembowski
  • Matthew Duren
  • Austin Fleet
  • Riley Freeman
  • David Gover
  • Timothy Goetz
  • Christine Holley
  • Hannah Madden
  • Morgan Magie
  • Rainey Ostberg
  • Branson Parker
  • Nicole Phifer
  • Sarah Smith

Your generosity allows TXCPA East Texas to fund scholarships that go to our local college students. Recipients are accounting majors and have the intent of becoming a Texas Certified Public Accountant and entering the accounting profession upon graduation. This year’s scholarship recipients were:

  • Angel Cuarenta
  • Trevor Deel
  • Stephanie Diaz
  • Ashley Dixon
  • Jordan Eddings
  • Megan Falt
  • Rebekah Howerton
  • Aoi Kaise
  • Sadie Kennedy
  • Cullen Malone
  • Danya Mariadiaga
  • Jackson Peer
  • Kailyn Southerland

Many thanks to the 2022-23 chapter board of directors Tom Branton, Kindle Midkiff, A.J. Evans, Mehgan Ibanez, Kevan Kirksey, Brandon Mays, Heather Sanders, Tom Seale, Len Song, and John Ussery for their service under the dedicated leadership of Immediate Past President Misty de Wet.

Read the chapter’s 2022-2023 Year-End Report