Page Title

TXCPA Permian Basin Recognizes Members at Year-End Luncheon

  • Published on May 27, 2023
  • by Rori Shaw



At the Year-End Luncheon on May 2, TXCPA Permian Basin recognized the following members as chapter award recipients for helping shape the direction of the chapter. Congratulations to Catherine Speer, Outstanding Executive Officer; Kristie Jumper, Outstanding Director; and Alba Priest, Outstanding Committee Chairs. Thank you for your leadership.  

Congratulations to Samir Chavira on being named the 2023 Accounting Excellence Award winner for UTPB!  

The chapter welcomed and introduced all new CPAs in the Permian Basin to the profession and our community. This year’s new licensees were:

Candy Arroyo
Gabriella Baltazar
Jonathan Bermudez
Lacy Brooks
Guadelupe Castaneda
Ginger McCready
Haylee Polser
Shelli Sanchez
Kara Williams

Your generosity allows TXCPA Permian Basin to fund scholarships that go to our local college students. Recipients are accounting majors and have the intent of becoming a Texas Certified Public Accountant and entering the accounting profession upon graduation. This year’s scholarship recipients are:

UTPB Scholarship Recipients
Oluwafoyinsolami Adewole
Farida Akpan-Joshua
Melissa Carrasco
Alpha Cerrillos
Samir Chavira
Samantha Delgado
Mohsin Gilani
David Gomez
Zsanette Hoad
Lisa Jones
Jocelyn Juarez
Valerie Lopez
Connor McKeehan
Angeles Martinez-Hernandez
Andrea Mitchell
Chinoso Nwaugo
Joseph Pengelly
Krista Penner
Lucinda Pinales
Cathleen Rodriguez-Eckle
Evan Siegrist
Gayla Smith
Dovie Stark
Marissa Sturgeon
Caitlyn Tatro
Irwin Tavarez
Jessica Turner
Liliana Valdez
Patrick Weatherred
Jessica Whisenant
Emily Williams
Amy Young

Midland College Scholarship Recipients
Isais Correa
Evelyn Dias
Ronald Tucker
Brayden Wynne
Maria Bustamante
Edmund Perry
Jaime Rodrigues
Miguel Ronquillo

Odessa College Scholarship Recipients
Aleck Villa
Jazmine White

Many thanks to the 2022-23 chapter board of directors: Oscar Aguilar, Mackenzie Craft, Kate Devey, Narita Holmes, John Michael Jaramillo, Kristie Jumper, Daniel Lujan, Connor McKeehan, Meredith McKeehan, Alba Priest, Jennifer Smith,  Catherine Speer and Chad Valentine for their service under the dedicated leadership of Immediate Past President Derby Gallo. 

Read the chapter’s 2022-2023 Year-End Report